Oklahoma is one of the states that has recently allowed recreational marijuana use. Recreational cannabis is not exactly new to Oklahoma, however, the law has been revised since 2016. This guide will show you 10 things you should know before purchasing your first legal piece of edibles in Oklahoma.
Oklahomans, you have a lot to be excited about. Since the legalization of cannabis in the state, new marijuana laws have been put into place allowing Oklahomans to become partakers in what is soon going to be a billion-dollar industry. Here’s some information that will hopefully help you make sense of these laws.
The state of Oklahoma is set to lift its ban on marijuana. The laws surrounding recreational cannabis use will go into effect on July 1, 2018. This has created a lot of excitement in the cannabis industry and business owners are scrambling to make sure they are prepared for what’s coming.
It’s official — the state of Oklahoma has changed its old prohibitive laws about marijuana. Weed is legal in Oklahoma. This means that if you’re 21 years old or older and have applied for a business license, you can now legally grow your cannabis at home. Remember that this change in state law only applies to medical marijuana (not recreational use). If you are thinking about growing your weed, there are several things to consider before getting started-check this blog post to learn more about the ten things to know about the new Oklahoma marijuana law.
10 Things You Should Know About New Oklahoma Marijuana Laws
The new laws go into effect on Monday, Aug. Here are 10 things you should know about the new Oklahoma marijuana laws:
1) The new law allows adults 21 and older to possess and use small amounts of marijuana for medicinal purposes.
2) It’s not legal to smoke marijuana in public places, although people can consume it at home or in private clubs if they have a license.
3) The Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA) was created under this new law to oversee the licensing process and regulate dispensaries throughout the state.
4) The OMMA must issue licenses within 90 days of the effective date of this law, which means dispensaries could open as early as late September or early October 2020.
5) There are limits on how many licenses can be issued by OMMA and what types of businesses will be allowed to operate under a dispensary license: one retail location per county; no more than three cultivation sites per county; no more than six processing centers per county; no more than four dispensing sites per county; no more than 30 labs for testing purposes.
6) You can now grow up to six plants at home. This is a slight increase from the previous five-plant limit, but it still doesn’t allow for much personal cultivation in most homes or apartments.
7) Smokers can now light up anywhere they want to smoke (at least in public). They will still need to keep their weed in their vehicle until they get home, but this is a huge step forward for smokers who want to enjoy a joint without worrying about cops finding them with their stash.
8) The legalization of marijuana has been great for small businesses that were previously shut down by state law enforcement officials due to the plant being illegal under federal law since 1937 (when Congress passed an amendment that made it so). The state legislature has also given these businesses legal protection from prosecution by local authorities who may be more lenient than their counterparts down south (i.e., Texas or Arizona).
9) It’s illegal to drive while under the influence of any drug, including marijuana, and it can be considered a crime even if you’re not arrested or ticketed.
10) Marijuana possession can lead to a misdemeanor charge if it’s found as part of a traffic stop by police, who then have grounds to search your car and possibly arrest you based on the evidence they find there, even if they don’t find any drugs themselves at the time.”